Fourth of July on the Second of July

Because we had to work on the actual fourth, the team decided to celebrate on Saturday, July 2nd. We also celebrated Celeste’s birthday, which was on June 27th.

Burgers were grilled, hot dogs were charred, and fire was played with.

 IMG_7238

Adam and Celeste’s fish, Mr. Poops, was very excited to celebrate.

IMG_7241IMG_7242

The most expensive hotdogs I’ve ever eaten.

IMG_7252

And then the fireworks…

IMG_7365

IMG_7373

IMG_7377

IMG_7384

IMG_7380

IMG_7387

Celebrating America on the other side of the world was strange at first, but I’m thankful for our team of fellow Americans that we were able to shoot off fireworks and watch “Independence Day” with.

Now, almost a week after the Fourth of July, I sit here in my apartment and cannot help but mourn and pray for my home country. The little that I’ve seen online (and I know that’s not the best source, but I have my reasons) has saddened me and made me even more thankful that we have a God that we can trust – no matter the circumstances. However, despite what is happening politically, socially, and spiritually, I am still proud to call myself an American, and proud of what my forefathers established. I am thankful for the experiences that I have had, and the skills and opportunities I was fortunate enough to be given so that I could pursue my current job and life in Japan. I am thankful that we were free to celebrate America here in Japan, and share our celebration with a few of our Japanese friends and students.

For those of you in the States, know that we are praying for you and for your safety just as much as you are for us.

And thank you again to those who have continued to follow our journey. We love you.

One thought on “Fourth of July on the Second of July

Leave a Reply

